top of page

A short guide to Solo Travel - My experience moving abroad alone

Women’s day is all about women empowerment - celebrating women’s achievement and fearlessness. So, for international women’s day on March 8, we are shining a spotlight on solo travelling– more particularly moving abroad alone as a woman.

I should introduce myself. I’m Ana, I’m 24 years old and from a lovely seaside city in the north of Portugal. For a little context, even though I have lived abroad before, I never did this alone. I never even went on a vacation alone!


So how did I end up moving to Cork alone to work at Barter’s Travelnet?

To really sum it up – I got bored of seeing the same suburban neighbourhood where’ve I’ve lived since I was born. Last year I spent 5 months working in the Netherlands and about one month travelling through European countries and had the time of my life. When I went back home and returned to my routine in Portugal, I realized that I was not ready to get back to that reality. So, when I finished my master’s degree, I applied for several jobs abroad (with no particular country preference, I was open to anything) and ended up in Ireland, where Barter’s decided to take me in!

Porto, Portugal - This is where I'm from!

Even though Portugal and Ireland are relatively close to each other, share a continent and time zone, this was a big change for me. From trying to pack your life into 2 suitcases and a backpack, to being faced with Ireland’s housing crisis while looking for a place to stay – there was a lot of stress involved! I tried to sort out as much as I could before arriving in Ireland. Here are some things I did to prepare:


1. Google as much as I could about the location

I searched the internet for the type of weather (important to know what clothes to pack), currency, the plug types used, means of transportation, how the buses work (fares, city coverage, timetables - this is also handy to understand if living in the suburbs is a viable option as there might be more accommodation options outside of the city centre).

I also searched for the best ways to find a room. Usually, there are dedicated websites that are widely used in each country where people advertise rooms available. Facebook groups are also a good option (a quick search on Facebook with the city's name + keywords such as rooms to rent and this should lead you to groups where you can search for a room). Student accommodation residencies could also be a possibility. Typically, these are reserved exclusively for university students but it's worth it to try to apply - especially during the summertime when students leave.


2. Joined Reddit communities and asked as many questions as I could

Reddit is a great platform to ask questions to locals and others in the same situation. I joined the Cork subreddit and the Ireland subreddit and every time I had a question that I would not find the answer to online or even if I needed advice on something I would go there and ask the community!

Advice: as I mentioned, there are a lot of people in the same situation in these communities so a lot of the questions that you might have been answered already in previous posts. Try using Reddit's search function to check if you might find the information you need in previous posts so that the subreddit is not flooded by the same questions over again. Here is a compilation of posts about moving to Cork!


3. Searched my personal network for Ireland connections

Because I quickly became aware of how difficult it would be to find a room to stay in, I asked around my friend group and family if they had ever been or knew anyone who had been to Cork or Ireland that might give me some tips on how to find accommodation. This is a great strategy because everybody knows someone who knows someone. This is actually how I found the room I'm living in! Through word-of-mouth, I eventually got in contact with someone who was leaving their room on my second day in Cork and moved in straight away.


4. Booked a hotel for the first few nights

Because finding a room is so difficult in Cork and paying for anything without viewing it first is highly unrecommended due to the number of scams, it's better to book a hotel/hostel to stay in for the first few days and book viewings during those days. This relieves a bit of the stress and urgency to find more permanent accommodation. It requires a bit more logistics in regards to packing and unpacking but having a place to rest after the long trip I had to arrive in Cork is a very big stress reliever.


5. Made sure that my documents had validity

I made sure that all the documents that I might need were valid and if any needed renewing because it is easier to take care of that in your home country. Check if your EU ID card needs renewing (if you're from the EU) and passport (if you're from outside the EU). Also, it is a good idea for EU citizens to get the European Health Insurance Card as it is free and gives you access to medically necessary, state-provided healthcare in EU countries, including Ireland.

 

Finally, I arrived in Ireland. A country where I was not used to the weather, the culture, the food – and didn’t know how I would be received. Leaving the comfort of my home where my family and lifelong friend live to go to a place where I know no one is definitely a challenging decision and I still get bit by the loneliness bug now and then – but I don’t ever regret my decision.

The English Market - Cork, Ireland

The Irish are the nicest people I’ve ever dealt with, they are very welcoming and have no problems in starting a conversation with a total stranger. I remember as soon as I arrived in Cork’s city centre from the airport and was struggling to carry my suitcases up a hill to the hotel, a man who noticed my struggle said: “I feel like I should help you” - such a sweet gesture.


I am constantly meeting new people and learning new realities. I’ve always heard people say that you can only grow outside of your comfort zone, and I could not agree more. I was so uncomfortable when I went to bed for the first time over one thousand kms from where I’ve spent my life - but the adaptation, the resilience and open-mindedness are definitely things you can expect to develop in these situations. I found that I am stronger and more resourceful than I ever thought, and that is great for my self-confidence!

Cliffs of Moher - sea cliffs located at the southwestern edge of the Burren region in County Clare, Ireland

I’m still adapting - every day is different! But that is part of the fun. Travelling alone is a great way to get to know and reinvent yourself in a new setting – it’s all about you. Think of all the possibilities! Maybe you crave this, maybe you are scared by it. Either way, moving abroad is not the only way you can experience this, planning a solo trip is a less definite option - just as fun and with all the benefits!


Put yourself out there, don’t overthink it, don’t let fear overcome you – you will not regret it! Happy women’s day.






31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page